The Peninsula Youth Music Society is a not-for-profit organisation that was formed in 1980 as a special enterprise for Music 81.

In January 1981 the first Peninsula Summer Youth Music School was held, and in 2019 we celebrate our 39th Annual Summer Music School.

In February of 1981 the Peninsula Youth Orchestra began weekly rehearsals, which are still being held on a Wednesday evening.

In 1987 in conjunction with the Musical Society of Victoria, a second Orchestra was formed known as the Nemet Orchestra, catering for the less experienced player.

In 2009 these groups combined to form the La Gruta Chamber Orchestra.

PYMS continued to expand and in 1989 a Youth Wind Ensemble was formed. This group is now known as the Askey Stage Band.

2009 saw the start of the Saturday Morning Music School. This program was set up to introduce students from prep to grade three to Singing, Percussion, Dance and Recorder.

In 2010 we held our inaugural Winter Music School with two groups, an Orchestra and a Vocal Theatre Group. In 2012 we added a Stage Band to the program.

2015 saw the expansion of our Saturday Morning Music School to students from grade 4 to 6. An Instrumental Program was introduced giving students the opportunity to learn, Flute, Clarinet, Violin, Cello, Trumpet or Trombone.

The Peninsula Youth Music Society is run solely by a dedicated group of volunteers who include;

President: Antoinette Seal
Vice-President: Nora Morrisroe
Secretary: Trisha Brumbaugh
Treasurer: Bronwyn Pfleger
Executive Officer: Dorothy Aspin
General Committee: Damian Royal and Jackie Simmonds

To enrol now please contact Antoinette Seal on 03 5975 8841
or E-mail: [email protected]